Case Study Update –

24 03 2010

This Case Study has provided me with a funny kind of relationship with my student.  While it has made me focus in on many of his challenges in the classroom and caused some frustration within my own classroom management system, it has equally caused me to pay more attention to the positive and enjoyable characteristics and personality traits of my student.  In general, it has really helped me to develop a deeper and more personal relationship with this student.

One particular transformation in our relationship is something I have just noticed within the last 2 weeks.  Over the course of this past semester, I have develop a stronger disciplinary system with this particular student.  As mentioned earlier, we have implemented a behavior checklist which gets checked off during every subject/class of the day.  While this provides him with immediate feedback on his behavior (immediacy being the key for him), it also is a continual reminder to him if he has had unacceptable behavior.   As in, it reminds him that he is “in trouble.”  (He’s not really in trouble, just in a state of needing to “make a change.”)    All that being said, the checklist caused him to not want to interact with me as much when it was first being implemented.  It was that negative consequence on the checklist that seemed to make him feel as if their was tension between us.

However, over the past few weeks, I have tried to emphasize to him in subtle ways that I care about him and am truly intrested in his life.  It is definitely apparent that he has caught on because his attitude towards me has dramatically improved over these past few weeks.  While he still realizes that I am going to be strict on him (especially in regards to the checklist), he is able to respect that, and in return spend more time enjoying the school day with me.  He knows that I am going to expect certain behaviors from him, but thath I am also willing to joke around with him.


Actions

Information

2 responses

28 03 2010
wcamanda

I am so glad that your case study is starting to see that you are only doing what you are doing because you care about them. I hope that my case study realizes this at some point in our time together. I think it takes a while for kids to understand that concept. Thank you for your post though because it kind of gives me hope that my case study may some day understand.

6 04 2010
annagus

It took me a long time to get over the fear of not being liked. At first, it was really fun being the cool, young college student teacher that the kids all loved to hang out with. I really didn’t want to break that because it seemed so exciting that the kids liked me so much, BUT behavior got out of control and I needed to do something. I made some of the kids sign the behavior log. After that, I realized that they may not have been as buddy-buddy with me, but the still loved having me around. I think that you are probably doing a wonderful job with this student, and I commend you for keeping up the effort!
Good luck as you finish out the next couple of weeks… we’re so close (sigh of relief+ major tears!)

Leave a comment